When revising drafts of poetry and when analyzing poetry, I encourage students to consider musical tools such as onomatopeia, alliteration, and more. The Audio Book Mart (which may just take you back to Audible.com anyway). In addition to the three I mentioned, I really like John Updike, John Irving, Chuck Palahniuk, Mark Helprin, Michael Ondaatje and Yann Martel. The beauty of writing fiction is that the song is yours to compose. I am more of a reader than a writer. Sixteen words with way too many adverbs, period. It will improve you as a writer, I swear to you. She seemed surprised. People, a novel isn’t a textbook. I don't know what he laced them with, but I've been tripping all day. Log in for free today so you can post it! Sort by. Let me ask you this: as an author, do you ever read your words aloud to yourself? Yes, I think they lack rhythm. I am coming to believe there are people who want to write books and people who want to develop themselves as writers. Here is my challenge to each of you: go out and buy the audio version of Heart of Darkness I am about to share with you. Submitted by. In fact, I am reading an as-of-yet unfinished, but soon to be published novel–and I am struck by the ‘musicality’ and ‘orchestration’ of the words–something I am always impressed by. The best advice I’ve come up with is to look at your writing as a whole, on the page. The good news is, I believe pace and flow and beat can be learned. From a writing teacher perspective, one of the best things I’ve done is teach poetry. But I have, Here is my challenge to each of you: go out and buy the audio version of. I mean LITERALLY listened to it. Memists Online. Well, I actually hear them in my head. If you’ve never read Jonathan Lethem, oh boy does he get it. I’m often shocked by new writers (or people who say they want to write) who when asked what they’re reading reply that they don’t have time to read. Great post, Rob. You have crystalized several ideas I’ve been trying to form into