K: Thank you for the input, but I have checked some sources again and do believe I am correct. We'll assume the father was pure black, and the mother was fawn (agouti + red eyed dilute). Homozygous shorn (shn/shn) at next to a heterozygous shn/+ littermate at 4 weeks. Dominant trait — This is the color of wild rats. Each type will be marked dominant or recessive. The ultimate outcome is that the rat is hairless (Panteleyev and Christiano 2001). Hence they are called comb rats as well. You also need to evaluate your own life and consider things such as your home, your other fur babies, and your available time. With any of color style coloration, your rat’s coat overall will be one color, but the individual hairs can be banded with multiple colors. Disclaimer: I am a biologist, not a rat breeder, and my interest in rat coats stems from my fascination with the underlying biology. The Rex coat is a dominant trait so it only takes one Rex parent to affect the offspring’s appearance. Recessive trait — This dilute does not just change the eye color of the rat, it also dilutes the coat color. Where do these coat differences come from? I have there cages open and they come go. They live in burrows and crevices within rocks and can jump very high up to six feet. (so someone very official, not a backyard breeder) They were all berkshire, and most dwarfs. love my babies so much :D. thanks you have helped me find out more about pet rats i have two my self both brothers however they fight a lot dose anyone know why this is . The term has acquired a negative connotation throughout history due to rats being the carriers of the bubonic plague which is also known as the Black Death. Manx rats, like manx cats, have no tail. So now instead of a berkshire he looks like a cap. First, due to the fact that, again, they’re hairless, they don’t have any fur to help them regulate their body temperature in colder temperatures. This literature therefore deals with laboratory rats, not pet rats!